What inspired The Thistlewood Curse?

What inspired my latest novel, The Thistlewood Curse?

THE THISTLEWOOD CURSE Cover (JPG Print version)

A colleague of mine told me of a paranormal experience she once had. This experience gave me an intriguing story idea which would combine a conventional mystery whodunit with supernatural themes, including astral projection. I wrote a brief outline of the plot (the big twist ending was foreseen from the outset), but wondered about where to set it.

Subsequently, when my mother-in-law visited Lundy Island, she returned to show me her extensive photographic survey, along with the various guidebooks and maps she had picked up. I then realised I had the ideal setting for my novel, which would evolve from detective story to supernatural mystery thriller, culminating in an under siege horror finale, as the characters are trapped on the island in the midst of a fierce night storm.

As I set about writing the novel, there were various influences in the back of my mind, including Sherlock Holmes short stories like The Speckled Band and Agatha Christie’s Sleeping Murder, as well as films like Angel Heart, The Exorcist and television series Twin Peaks. However, I do hope the novel is distinctive and original in its own right too.

Here is the blurb from the back of The Thistlewood Curse:

Can a ghost murder the living?

Lawrence Crane’s powers of astral projection are put to the ultimate test when he and his lifelong friend Detective Laura Buchan investigate a mysterious death on Lundy Island.

Sensing a dark power at work, they attempt to identify a human assassin under the control of supernatural evil.

But can they escape a terrifying, centuries-old curse?

You can download or buy print copies of The Thistlewood Curse from Amazon here.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

