An excerpt from The Thistlewood Curse

Here’s an excerpt from my new supernatural thriller The Thistlewood Curse.

THE THISTLEWOOD CURSE Cover (JPG Print version)

Following a particularly difficult and traumatic case, Detective Sergeant Laura Buchan goes on leave, only to hear via email about the sudden death of her friend’s husband on Lundy Island. This is the event that sets the main plot in motion.

“Laura immediately grabbed her phone to give Sally a call. She hadn’t known Charles very well, but obviously she wanted to be there for her old friend. However, she then noticed the email was very long, and that there was a great deal more she ought to be aware of first before making any calls. As she read it she felt increasingly disturbed. Sally wasn’t merely bereaved, but she seemed quite beside herself with what appeared to be the most extraordinary paranoia.

Dear Laura,

I’m very sorry to have to tell you Charles has died. He was visiting his parents on Lundy Island and literally just dropped dead. According to the doctor it was a sudden heart attack. Very unusual for someone his age, and very unlucky. The funeral is next week. He’s going to be buried on the island.

  As you can probably imagine I’m going through a lot right now, but there is something else I have to tell you. I know you’re going to think I’m mad, but I think Charles was murdered. In fact, I’m sure of it. The worst thing is I can’t prove anything. I haven’t got a shred of evidence. I’ve got nothing more than a really, really horrible feeling. I’ve not said anything to anyone else, but I need you now, more than I’ve ever needed you before. I need you to help me prove Charles was deliberately killed. Please help me Laura. I’m really, really scared.

You can download or order print copies of The Thistlewood Curse from Amazon Kindle here.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

