Happy New Year!

2015 was quite a year.

I released two novels: the final instalment in the George Hughes trilogy, George goes to Neptune, and Love vs Honour.

The latter in particular represented something of a watershed for me, in that I stepped well outside my usual genres. It begins as a boy meets girl story, with a potentially controversial religious spin. It then evolves into a drama of deception, with many twists, turns and ironies before a much darker finale. Although ostensibly a novel for teenagers, it has as much appeal for grown-ups, especially as the subject matter is not exclusively romantic but embracing of complex, thought-provoking themes and ideas. At least, that is what those who have read the novel claim in their reviews. Why not give it a go yourself and see what you think?

LvsHonour 1600 x 2400

So, what does 2016 have in store?

Unless it is snapped up by mainstream publishers, I plan to release The Thistlewood Curse – a detective thriller that evolves into a supernatural drama and finally a horror story. I will say very little at present, other than it involves astral projection and is set almost entirely on Lundy Island.

For younger readers, I plan on releasing something potentially even scarier – The Faerie Gate. Again, plans may change if mainstream publishers want to get their grubby little mits on it, but this is easily the darkest children’s book I have written; a proper horror story for younger readers, and adults with nerves of steel.

Also for younger readers, I hope to release a single volume version of the entire George Hughes trilogy at some stage, so George goes to Mars, George goes to Titan and George goes to Neptune will all be available in one place.

I am also writing another dark fairy tale in the early part of the year, which I would describe as drawing inspiration from Alice in Wonderland, Coraline, Pan’s Labyrinth, and Spirited Away yet also in many ways a companion piece to Children of the Folded Valley. That one is intended for adults.

The second book I intend to write in 2016 is also for adults, though the details remain top secret for now. I must confess to feeling oddly superstitious about writing this novel, and part of me doesn’t want to. But the story is so strong I feel I must at least get it on paper. I can always chicken out and not release it after all, if I get cold feet. But if it turns out as good as I think it could be that would perhaps be cowardly.

I realise all this sounds infuriatingly enigmatic, so I will instead wish you a Happy New Year from Simon Dillon Books, and judging by 2016’s planned output, it’s also going to be quite a scary one.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

