George goes to Neptune update

A number of people have contacted me to ask how work is progressing on the third George Hughes book. I can now officially announce that George goes to Neptune – the sequel to George goes to Mars and George goes to Titan – is finished.

Well, to be more accurate, the first draft is finished. I am currently working on the second draft, rewriting and tweaking where needed, ready for that all important “beta test” phase, if you’ll forgive my use of a computing term. But in essence I have a finished version of the book that is in the process of being polished up, and I am very excited about it.

I’ve had a lot of questions about what the book will contain, so I’ll try and answer some of them in a spoiler-free way.

When will the book be out?

Sometime in early 2015, exact date to be confirmed. Watch this space.

Was George goes to Mars always intended to be the first book in a series?

George goes to Mars was originally conceived as a stand-alone adventure, but when I finished that book in 2006, the idea for the second immediately came to me. However, I procrastinated over writing the second novel for seven years, finally finishing it in early 2013. I swore I wouldn’t write a third, but then I got a great idea that simply could not be ignored. So the George Hughes series has been a very organic writing process.

Is George goes to Neptune the final book in the series?

I would say I am 99.9 percent certain it will be. I can’t think how I could possibly top the thrilling events of the third book, so I think it is probably best to go out on a high. George goes to Neptune draws a natural line under the whole saga, and whilst I have a few ideas for additional George Hughes stories, I don’t feel any of them are strong enough to warrant being turned into further sequels. Still, never say never.

Are the whole gang back in George goes to Neptune?

Most of the surviving principal characters from previous books will make an appearance, though some will have only a minor part to play. However the story is really focused around George, Meredith, Giles and a number of new characters who will remain under wraps for now.

Will the Martians return?

 Yes.

What about the Titanians?

Previously I had said no to this question. However, this has gone from a “no” to a “no comment”. That is not a confirmation that the Titanians will return, but there are good reasons I cannot give a straight answer, as you will see when you read the book.

What about other alien races?

Sorry, that’s still classified.

Any more assassins with silly names?

Not directly, but at least one will be mentioned.

Will Meredith disappear again?

Er… If you mean will I rehash the plot of the second book and have Meredith disappear into a parallel universe, then no.

Any more visits to parallel universes or time travel?

No and no. Time will proceed in a straight line in this story. This is something I was very grateful for during the writing process, as it meant no headache inducing charts with arrows and post-it notes to keep track of timelines in different parallel dimensions.

Can you tell me anything at all about the story?

Other than it features George and the planet Neptune, I’d rather say nothing at all at this point. The epilogue at the end of George goes to Titan provides a couple of additional hints though.

Is it going to be as good as the last two? Or will it be a colossal let-down?

Obviously, that’s for readers to decide. But quite honestly I would not have spent time on it if I didn’t think it was a story worth telling. Hopefully when you read it next year, you’ll agree with me.

Don’t forget you can still download the first two books in the George Hughes series:

George goes to Mars (George Hughes book 1)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/George-goes-Mars-Hughes-ebook/dp/B007FH1WLC/ref=pd_sim_sbs_kinc_1

When George Hughes discovers he has inherited the planet Mars, he goes from poverty to becoming the richest boy on Earth overnight.

Accompanied by his new guardian, a mysterious secret agent and a crew of astronauts, George voyages to Mars to sell land to celebrities wanting to build interplanetary holiday homes. But sabotage, assassination attempts and the possibility of an alien threat plunge him into a deadly adventure…

George goes to Mars is also available FREE in various formats from Smashwords:

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/136132

George goes to Titan (George Hughes book 2)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/George-goes-Titan-Hughes-ebook/dp/B00EX8R39Q/ref=sr_1_2?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1380574980&sr=1-2

The thrilling sequel to George goes to Mars…

A year on from his adventures on Mars, George Hughes faces an even deadlier peril as he travels to Titan on an urgent rescue mission. The mysterious Giles returns to help him, but assassins are once again on his tail, and a new, far greater alien menace lurks in the shadows waiting to strike.

You can also order print copies of the above from Lulu.com

George goes to Mars:

http://www.lulu.com/shop/simon-dillon/george-goes-to-mars/paperback/product-21336550.html

George goes to Titan:

http://www.lulu.com/shop/simon-dillon/george-goes-to-titan/paperback/product-21336576.html

If you read and enjoy my novels, please consider leaving a short review, ideally on Amazon.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

