What time do you write?

clocks

People often ask me how I have time to write given that I have a family, full-time job, etc. My response is always the same: people make time for what they want to do, regardless of what it is, or how time consuming.

As to when I squeeze writing into my schedule, different writers have different times of day they are at their most creative and therefore different times when they try to write. Some prefer mornings, some afternoons, some evenings, and some pull all-nighters.

With me, my most creative time is from around 10:30pm to around 1am. I know that if I am in bed before 10:30pm, I’ll probably fall asleep. However, if I am still up, the urge to write hits and cannot really be shaken off. I can write at any time of day, but my best work is always done during those hours.

Then there is the matter of how often people write. I write most days, for at least an hour – a steady, drip-drip of new material. However, other writers often go for days, weeks, months or even years without writing anything, then suddenly get the urge and disappear into their work virtually non-stop.

But my essential point remains: people make time for what they want to do, and I want to write.

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

